B4R Question ESP8266 to turn on/off PC?

susu

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hi,
I'm totally new to B4R. I read some tutorials with ESP8266 and just wonder can ESP8266 do this:
Connect 2 Power Button pins from PC mainboard to ESP8266 then control ESP8266 to turn on/off my PC over internet?

If it's not possible, could you please suggest another cheap/easy way to turn on/off PC? Thank you so much.

jboavida

Licensed User
Longtime User
WOL (Wakeup On Lan)... Check your bios, activate it, redirect your router ports and send the magic packet from any PC, MAC or Android...
Google for Wake-on-Lan...

Upvote 0

susu

Licensed User
Longtime User
WOL (Wakeup On Lan)... Check your bios, activate it, redirect your router ports and send the magic packet from any PC, MAC or Android...
Google for Wake-on-Lan...
I know Wake-on-Lan but sometime I need to shutdown/restart PC when it hang (can't not remote access). The only way is long press the power button then press it again to turn on.

Upvote 0

Cableguy

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
You need to figure out if your MB power button pins expect a Low (to gnd) or a high (to vcc) input, the rest should be pretty easy

Upvote 0

susu

Licensed User
Longtime User
My local store sells this ESP8266 Easy which had a relay already. Is it work as I want? Thank you.

0lgOOyQl.jpg

Attachments

• wifirelay.jpg
    wifirelay.jpg
    166.5 KB · Views: 407
Upvote 0

Peter Simpson

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
@susu read the MQTT tutorial, look up relays and use an ESP8266.

With B4R is should be (no sorry, it will be) easy and quick to implement. It will basically be the same code I use to control my office lights over the internet but the relay will be connected to your computer's motherboard.

Good luck, I expect that you will have it all up and running in no time whatsoever.

Remember that the ESP8266 needs a 3 volt relay, not a 5 volt relay ;)

Upvote 0

susu

Licensed User
Longtime User
Thank you Peter,