Android Question Fixed IP address question

bartj

Hello,

I am relatively new to B4A. I came upon this issue while attempting to write some B4A code to allow me to create a wired TCP connection between an Android Galaxy tab and some hardware I have been working with. Its not really related to B4A, but I have posted this question first to several other "Android" related sites and I have received no helpful responses. The manufacturer of the USB to Ethernet adapter was also unable to provide a helpful response.

I am attempting to use a Galaxy Tab A in a local private network with no router. I have setup the following:

1) Netgear FS105 Ethernet switch (not smart)
2) Galaxy Tab A with a USB to Ethernet adapter (USB2-OTGE100)
3) Device #1 - Custom hardware at 192.168.12.9
3) Device #2 - Custom hardware at 192.168.12.10
4) Connection to my "outside world" ethernet router (just used to test network connectivity to the outside world)
5) Connection to my win 7 PC ethernet port (set to 192.168.12.100)(just used to test network connectivity to the local network)

With the Galaxy Tab set to airplane mode and the ethernet adapter set to DHCP I can ping (from the Galaxy) to the outside world (such as 8.8.8.8).
However I am unable to ping the local hardware at 192.168.12.9 or 192.168.12.10.

I am able to ping 192.168.12.9 and 192.168.12.10 from my win 7 pc. This tells me that the Devices are connected properly to the network. Note that the settings for the win7 PC are:
IP address: 192.168.12.100
IP Mask: 255.255.255.0
DNS server values are blank

I then change the Galaxy Tab's ethernet configuration to fixed IP:
IP address: 192.168.12.45
Net mask: 255.255.255.0
DNS address: 0.0.0.0
Default router 0.0.0.0

Note: I need to fully populate all 4 of the above fields before the setup can be "saved".

In this configuration I am still unable to ping 192.168.12.9 and 192.168.12.10 from the Galaxy tab.