Form Designer OK & Cancel

DaveW

Licensed User
Longtime User
Don't get me wrong, I think Basic4PPC is a great product - which makes the oddities stand out even more!

As a newbie I was confused by the layout and operation of the Form Designer. There is an OK and Cancel button - albeit in a very odd place. But these do not close the Designer - they refresh or cancel changes to the current object being designed. The ONLY way to close the Form Designer (as far as I can see) is to click the 'red X'. This seems a very strange way to manage a form, I am fairly certain that Microsoft Guidelines would say the red X is not supposed to be the primary form close option! Then the result of clicking 'red X' is invariably a message "Do you want to keep changes?" This happens even all you did was click on a control - you don't have to change or move it to make the Designer think the form needs saving.

I feel that there should be 'proper' OK & Cancel buttons at the bottom of the form. I think that this would make the feel of the interface much more 'normal' and life a bit easier - even that only means one less mouse click every time you open the Designer!

David.

DaveW

Licensed User
Longtime User
I don't want to sound negative, especially as I have only been here a week!

But if you *are* going to improve the Form Designer, perhaps you could look at the Menu Designer as well? This also lacks an OK & Cancel button. In addition, when you add a menu item the new item is not selected, Finally, the controls on the form would look a lot better if they just lined up and had the same sizes! :(

I completely understand how bits can get overlooked though, When I look at code in my commercial app that was written 3 or 4 years ago I sometimes have to wonder what I was thinking then!

klaus

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
I have also some improvement suggestion for the desktop Designer: