Android Question How to automate Camera2 to take a photo every 'x' minutes.

ricprehn

Dear all,

I am trying to automate the example 'Camera2' from Erel (https://www.b4x.com/android/forum/threads/camera2-still-images-and-videos.83920/#content) to make timelapses. I would like to be able to call the function TakePicture every 'x' minutes automatically. Should I use a timer? or StartServiceAt? What is the best way to archive the best functionality, less battery drain and assure that android will not kill the activity? I will appreciate if you can give me some advice, I am a newbie in B4A, trying to learn this powerful software.

Best regards,
Ricard.

ricprehn

Dear Erel,

I started a timer in the B4XMainPage of your "camera2still images and videos example". I am calling "TakePicture" every tick. PhoneWakeState is on. This metyhod works well, but because the screen is always on, it will drain the battery very fast. Is there any way to call "takePicture" every 'x' minutes with the screen turned off?

Many thanks,
Ricard.

B4X:
Private Sub B4XPage_Created (Root1 As B4XView)
    Root = Root1
    Root.LoadLayout("1")
    Root.LoadLayout("StillPicture")
    VideoFileDir = rp.GetSafeDirDefaultExternal("")
    VideoFileName = "1.mp4"
    cam.Initialize(pnlCamera)
    Log(cam.SupportedHardwareLevel)
    buttons = Array(btnScene, btnAutoExposure, btnEffects, btnFocus, btnMode)
    SetState(False, False, VideoMode)
    Timer1.Initialize("Timer1", 300000)
    Timer1.Enabled = True 
    Log ("timer on")
    pws.KeepAlive(True)
End Sub

B4X:
Private Sub Timer1_Tick
    TakePicture
    Log ("Timer activated")
End Sub

Upvote 0

ricprehn

Hello,

Is there any way to take a photo using Camera2 with the screen turned off?
I was trying to pws.KeepAlive(True) before calling TakePhoto and pws.ReleaseKeepAlive after. But it doesn't work.

I will appreciate any help.
Thanks!

Upvote 0

emexes

Expert
Licensed User
You cannot take pictures when the screen is turned off.