B4J Question HTTP Server with range requests support for making my own complete street navigation map server

vfafou

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hello!
I'm looking for creating my own street navigation map server with B4J.
I've started searching for resources to make it possible.
The first thing I have read is that the HTTP server for the map tiles should support range requests.
How could I find if B4J HTTP server supports range requests?
BTW any help from any member who have the appropriate knowledge to guide me to my purpose or give me learning resources, will be highly appreciated!

Last edited:

tchart

Licensed User
Longtime User
Range is something you need to handle. The range is sent in a request header and you would need to handle it.

So yes jserver would handle it but you would need implement the logic.

By the way I work in the mapping industry (20+ years) and I’ve never seen any map servers use range requests so I’m interested to know where you saw this. Data is already tiled to facilitate small responses so there really is no reason to do range requests. Range requests are generally for media streaming eg music.

Upvote 0

vfafou

Licensed User
Longtime User
Range is something you need to handle. The range is sent in a request header and you would need to handle it.

So yes jserver would handle it but you would need implement the logic.

By the way I work in the mapping industry (20+ years) and I’ve never seen any map servers use range requests so I’m interested to know where you saw this. Data is already tiled to facilitate small responses so there really is no reason to do range requests. Range requests are generally for media streaming eg music.
I've searched for information on how to develop such server and I found nothing - fast and informative - about that!
I know I have to learn many GIS concepts but I prefer to begin with examples and the core logic instead of the bunch of theory!