Newbie here, b4a behavior question

jflaplante

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hi,

I'm relatively new to b4a and I began working on my first application last monday.

My question is with the behavior of b4a while switching between activities.

Activity 'main' load a layout and has a Listview that is filled up with invoice summaries by an sql request. The click event stores the selected item in a global variable and starts activity 'display_header'.

Activity 'display_header' loads a layout, makes an sql request and display an invoice header.

This works very well on the first try. Now here's the problem I have:

The 'display_header' activity also has a 'summary' button which does a 'StartActivity(Main)'.

Behavior A:
When I click the 'summary' button, the screen goes back to the 'main' activity and the listview as it should but then when I click on a different item on the listview other than the first time, the 'display_header' activity still display the first invoice header. As if the 'value' of the listview and the variable aren't changed.

Behavior B:
When I use the tablet 'back' button instead, the screen also goes back to the listview but this time, when I select a different item; the right invoice header is displayed in the 'display_header' activity.

Why is b4a behaving in two different ways for the 'apparent' same operation?

I'm sure this is somehow normal and I'm missing a small thing but I thank you in advance for any help you can give me. I have a few other questions that I will ask later in another post after searching the forum first.

JF.

jflaplante

Licensed User
Longtime User
Don't use StartActivity(Main), use Activity.Finish. This is the same as the Back Key.

Thanks, I tried it and it works but I still have situations where it is not working properly.

- When I'm 3-4 activity 'deep' and I want to return to the first one, a simple 'back' will no work, I need to be able to jump to the desired activity.