Android Question NFC for 15693

bartj

Hello,

I am brand new to B4A. I am using b4a version 10.0.

I have successfully downloaded and run the "Advanced NFC" program. I see that the NFC library shows as 2.01. I would like to read 15693 tags (NfcV). I have read a lot of posts on the forum on this topic (NFC/15693) and I saw a lot of activity from back in 2014/15/16 on this topic but I never saw any links to a working implementation. There were some who claimed to have it working but there was never a working example posted.

Is there a working example for reading 15693?

Thanks!

f0raster0

Licensed User
Longtime User
Have you tried this demo:

Upvote 0

bartj

Yes, I am able to load and run the Advanced NFC program referenced in that thread. However it only supports NDEF (14443) tags. I understand that the native library does not support 15693 tags and I also understand that the 15693 APIs are available but one must know java(which I do not) and also be a relatively accomplished b4x developer.

I have modified the Advanced NFC program to determine if a tag is 15693 and if so, initialize it and attempt to connect. It however returns a false for success when connecting.

B4X:
If techs.IndexOf("android.nfc.tech.Ndef") > -1 Then
            TagTech.Initialize("TagTech", "android.nfc.tech.Ndef" , si)
            'Connect to the tag
            TagTech.Connect
        else if techs.IndexOf("android.nfc.tech.NfcV") > -1 Then
            TagTech.Initialize("TagTech", "android.nfc.tech.NfcV" , si)
            'Connect to the tag
            TagTech.Connect
        Else
            ToastMessageShow("Tag does not support Ndef.", True)
        End If

I was hoping that someone has moved ahead with this. Any other references appreciated.

Thanks for your response!

Upvote 0

bartj

Hello,