Android Question Problems Populating a Scrollview

I am a newbie and have been evaulating b4a using the trial version. I'm having real problems with try to read in a csv, sort on a field and then populate a scrollview with the field "Name". I've never in my life resorted to asking on a forum but am tearing my hair out. Would anyone be so kind as to tell me what I'm doing wrong - pretty please. Many thanks, Nigel

Attachments

• Pegboard.zip
    14.6 KB · Views: 191
Thanks for looking into this Erel.

Unfortunately:
  • changing 1 to 0 didn't solve the problem though it was a mistake by me
  • I don't understand how to use the For Each Item() method
  • Since I'm evaluating B4A I can't download the CustomListView files

Can you see why my current code doesn't work? Thanks for you time.

Kind regards, nigel

Upvote 0

Erel

B4X founder
Staff member
Licensed User
Longtime User
Can you see why my current code doesn't work?
Always post the error message when something is not working.

Each item in lstPlayers is a tPlayers object. This code is wrong:
B4X:
Dim cells() As String
cells = lstPlayers.get(i)
It should be:
B4X:
Dim player As tPlayers = lstPlayers.Get(i)

Upvote 0

klaus

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
I had a look at your program and have following comments:

1. It seems to me that you are not using the Headers of the csv file, so you could use
ToSort = su.LoadCSV2(File.DirAssets, "players.csv", ",")
instead of
ToSort = su.LoadCSV2(File.DirAssets, "players.csv", ",", Headers)

I would suggest you to remove the first entry in your csv file to avoid the need to skip it and then use:
For i = 0 To ToSort.Size - 1
instead of
For i = 1 To ToSort.Size - 1

2. The problem you encounter is here:
Dim cells() As String
cells = lstPlayers.get(i)

You fill lstPlayers with a Type variable for each entry.
So you need to change it to:
Dim Player As tPlayer
Player = lstPlayers.get(i)

and then use
lbl1.Text = Player.Name
If Player.Sex="M" Then

instead of