Wish Trobergs big wishlist, part 6: Editor

Troberg

Licensed User
Longtime User
6. Editor (& designer)

* With some fonts, characters don't always show up in editor (try For n = with Ms Sans Serif 10 Bold). Yeah, I'm a programmer who prefers to work with variable width fonts, so what...
* Better control over syntax coloring (ie, a GUI).
* Set background color for folded regions. I can have, for example, the #region directive on a green background, but when it's folded, it's white.
* Syntax coloring: Define certain elements as "rulers", ie full line with different background (just like the current line). Useful for Sub declarations, #region, full line comments et cetera.
* Set separate background color for Sub declaration lines (as ruler, see above). Would give a very clear view of the code, and also eliminate the need for procedure separator lines (possibly saving enough space to give another line or two of visible code).
* Color-code the vertical lines which shows syntax element blocks, to easiser show what's what in deeply nested code.
* Highlight matching end structures (if/elseif/else/end if, for/next, do/while, select/case/end select etc).
* Collapsible syntax elements (for, if, do, select etc). If the line has a comment, only show the comment (and maybe the base syntax element, for example "For 'Check all users") when collapsed. The default, of course, should be to not collapse.
* Intellisense help (or some other method) for inserting events for stuff that doesn't get events from "Generate members" in the designer. It's not always easy or clear what events an object may have (or how they are named) and what arguments they have.
* MDI (or similar technologies). I like having several sets of code visible at once. Also, it would allow me to make good use of my triple monitor setup with 3840x2160 screens.
* An option to highlight stuff which is not supported by a certain API version. Would make it easy to hunt down unnecessary blocks for usage on older devices.