Android Question Webview add to page without reloading?

tsteward

Licensed User
Longtime User
Is it possible using a webview to add to a page without reloading the whole page?
My app loads local data from a local sql file, then checks an online database for user feedback. Adds this html data to the local data and displays the page.
I would like to display the local data whilst waiting for the online data to download then add it to the bottom of the already displayed data.

Some help or example if possible would be great or am I dream'n :)

JohnC

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
I'm not an expert with CSS/Javascript, but you could probably add a DIV tag like this to the original webpage:
B4X:
<DIV Id="BottomDiv"></DIV>
The above DIV will just be a placeholder to later display something at that location in the page.

And then you can inject some javascript into the webview at a later time to display some text in that DIV:
B4X:
https://www.b4x.com/android/forum/threads/webview-javascript-injection-launching-on-different-threads.118102/#post-738980
(the above example is just an example of injecting javascript and not an example of changing the DIV text)

Upvote 0

tsteward

Licensed User
Longtime User
Yeah my brain not getting anything from that.

I'm thinking my app needs to load and display local content.
Then on pagefinished event I would request data from my online database via httpjob which on success returns some html script and then add that to the bottom of the original page.

I can and already do gather all this info so that's not an issue. How in my httpjob on success would I add that to the webview please.
At the moment I display please wait, download the online content and merge it with local content and display it all at once. I was wanting to display local data instantly to make it a bit quicker/nicer

Upvote 0

JohnC

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User