Android Question Wrong layout variant on phone

Discussion in 'Android Questions' started by dafi, Feb 24, 2015.

1. dafi

dafi New Member Licensed User

I am new to using B4A even though I've had it a while, so this might be something obvious I am missing...

I have developed a small app and want to load it on several different phones. The first is a Galaxy S2 which has a screen res of 480x800, so I created a layout variant for 480x800 portrait with scale 1. The second phone is a Galaxy Y Duos 320x240 and I created another variant.
    When I download the app to the phones, the Y Duos uses the layout intended for the S2 and vice versa.

I thought that if a variant existed with the exact dimension for the phone, it would use that variant.

The app is running No Title and Full Screen.

What am I missing?

I am running an old version of B4A V3.15.

2. NJDude

NJDude Expert Licensed User

Better use the designer scripts and forget about variants.

Troberg likes this.
  3. Erel

Erel Administrator Staff Member Licensed User

I agree with NJDude that you should use as few as possible variants.

The Galaxy S2 resolution is not 480x800. It is 480x800, scale = 1.5.

Troberg likes this.
  4. Troberg

Troberg Well-Known Member Licensed User

I agree with NJDude as well. Code your app to scale for any size, and you'll never have to worry about variants. It's not hard, and after doing it a couple of time, it will become second nature.

I come from a Windows/Linux background, and for me, the entire thing with variant layouts just seems unnecessary. I've never made different form variants for Windows to accommodate for the user resizing the window, instead, I just scale the contents intelligently.

Example:

Say that I'm doing a typical web browser window, with some buttons top left, then URL text box and then the web page below and a status bar at the bottom. It's trivial to write something like:

Code:
    buttonBack.Left=0%x  'Put button at far left