Bug? 1 <> 1?

MrKim

Licensed User
Longtime User
I would call this a bug.

1588234740785.png

/this is the line of code that puts in the map:
B4X:
    M.Put("Jr_Released", Crsr.GetInt("Jr_Released"))
IT is an SQL Server cursor.
I was using the cursor directly and it worked but since I was also saving the data decided to set the data using the map.
This was the workaround:
B4X:
    Dim X As Int = M.Get("Jr_Released")
    If X = 1 Then
        SB.Append("HOT")
        T.Style = ";-fx-control-inner-background:rgba(255,93,84,1)"
But still, it should work.

MrKim

Licensed User
Longtime User
But the watch list shows them as being the same. Isn't that a compiler result? Is it casting the result? I am not an expert in this area, I am just a dumb database programmer trying to get a job done. I would understand an error being thrown that I need to convert a data type but to just blithely continue on with an incorrect result is wrong. If the compiler does not know the type it should say so. An SQL Server int is 4 bytes signed -2,147,483,648 to 2,147,483,647 the same as B4X.

Erel

B4X founder
Staff member
Licensed User
Longtime User
At compilation time the compiler doesn't know the type of object that will be returned from Map.Get as it returns an Object which is the base of all types. The debugger shows you the actual value.

Check this example:
B4X:
Dim d As Double = 1
Dim m As Map = CreateMap("test": d)
Log(m.Get("test") = 1) 'fails
Log(1 = m.Get("test")) 'works
The reason that the second one works is that the compiler "knows" that it needs to make a numerical comparison. This is not the case with the first one.

MrKim

Licensed User
Longtime User
1. Got it, Is that why maps are so fast? They aren't analyzing? Just storing bytes? I am always looking for speed, but there is always a tradeoff. It is easier to validate everything early, but expensive. 90% of data is just looked at. Better to validate when you actually use it.