Android Question targetSdkVersion=30 and File.DirRootExternal

Status
Not open for further replies.

Scantech

Licensed User
Longtime User
I read
Note that you need to reference android.jar from android-29 folder.
It will not work with targetSdkVersion=30. Avoid using File.DirRootExternal. Either use File.DirInternal or RuntimePermissions.GetSafeDirDefaultExternal.

Does that mean in the future we can't use File.DirRootExternal? Will there be a workaround just like the manifest for targetSdkVersion=29?

mcqueccu

Licensed User
Longtime User
The Workaround is exactly on top of what you quoted above...
B4X:
SetApplicationAttribute(android:requestLegacyExternalStorage, true)

Upvote 0

Scantech

Licensed User
Longtime User
The way i read it "will not work with targetSdkVersion=30" and "Avoid using File.DirRootExternal" Why avoid using File.DirRootExternal? I have been using it for 11 years and it is far better option then others. The data is not deleted when application is uninstalled with File.DirRootExternal. If its annoying to add dangerous permission then avoid it.

Upvote 0

Erel

B4X founder
Staff member
Licensed User
Longtime User
There will not be a simple, transparent workaround for this. It will require the user to explicitly select the folder, as done with ExternalStorage class.
The data is not deleted when application is uninstalled with File.DirRootExternal.
Not sure that most users will be happy with apps leaving files after they are uninstalled. Anyway, this is not our call.

Upvote 0

divinglog

Licensed User
Longtime User
There will not be a simple, transparent workaround for this. It will require the user to explicitly select the folder, as done with ExternalStorage class.

Not sure that most users will be happy with apps leaving files after they are uninstalled. Anyway, this is not our call.