GameView parenting

sterlingy

Licensed User
Longtime User
I'm going to try and make this easy to understand. Hope this works:

I'm working on a game. My background is a street, and it scrolls up and down, depending on the direction the main character moves. This seems to be working just fine, but there are also cars that move up and down the street, and in addition to their independent moving, they need to move relative to the scrolling background (street).

For lack of a better term, how do I parent the cars to the street? I could recalculate their relative position everytime the background scrolls, but his seems like a lot of overhead.

Cheers,

Sterling

basil99

Licensed User
Longtime User
You have a "world" full of different entities, like cars, buldings, enemies, player(s), items etc. Each entity has it own absolute world coordinates, say EntityX( indexOfEntity ) and EntityY( indexOfEntity ).

On other hand you have a "camera" with width = ScreenWidth and height=ScreenHeight, like a window that display a part of the world. Top-left corner of camera has coordinates Xoffset/Yoffset.

You need to manage only world ( absolute ) positions of entities, like car moving, then clip like

B4X:
if entityOnScreen( entityIndex ) = True

drawEntity( entityIndex )

end if

and entityOnScreen( entityIndex ) checks does EntityX/EntityY rectangle overlap "camera" rectangle

and a simple code for 2 rectangles S and D overlap is:

B4X:
sub RectanglesOverlap(sx1 as Int,sy1 as Int,sx2 as Int,sy2 as Int,dx1 as Int,dy1 as Int,dx2 as Int,dy2 as Int ) as boolean

dim result as Boolean
   result=false

if sx1 <  dx2 then
   if sx2 >= dx1 then
   if sy1 <  dy2 then
   if sy2 >= dy1 then

result = true

end if
   end if
   end if   
   end if

return result

End Sub

may be this helps

Upvote 0

Informatix

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User