Android Question Getting the Control Name

Discussion in 'Android Questions' started by Brad Henderson, May 21, 2019.

1. Brad Henderson

Brad Henderson Member Licensed User

I am new to B4A but am loving it so far. I'm stuck on trying to find which scrollview has issued the cell_click event.
    I have 5 scrollviews(with 3 columns) and when any item in any of the scrollviews is clicked I assign a label to the sender. While label.text gives me the contents of that cell I can't find a way to get the name of the scrollview that was clicked.
    Any help is greatly appreciated
    Brad

2. sorex

sorex Expert Licensed User

you should enter a value in the tag element of the scrollview.

then in your label click event you could try something like

Code:
    Dim l As Label=Sender
    log(l.Parent.Tag)
    as it is a scrollview you might need to add the tag value to the inner panel.
    you'll need to test that so it might be this if added to the scrollview itself

Code:
    l.Parent.Parent.Tag

Last edited: May 21, 2019
    mangojack likes this.
  3. Brad Henderson

Thank You sorex I will give it a try

4. Erel

Erel Administrator Staff Member Licensed User

Tip: you should probably use xCustomListView instead of ScrollView.

5. Brad Henderson

Thanks Erel I will have another look at xCustomListView. As an aside I am trying to adapt the TableExample that places a table in a panel within the scrollview.

Almost at where I want it, but just can't find a way to determine from which table/panel/scrollview the cell_click event was initiated.

6. Brad Henderson

Erel,
    What I am trying to achieve is to display a week of appointments for customers showing 5 separate "views" for each day. Each day will need to be scrollable to fit onto the tablet with landscape view. When these 5 days of appointments are displayed I want to click/tap on one particular entry/customer and start a new activity displaying that customers details. This data is coming from a sqlite database.