Is it just me...

Computersmith64

Licensed User
Longtime User
...or has anyone else noticed a lot of "lazy" posts lately where questions that have already been answered are being asked in new threads, seemingly without the OP even bothering to search the forum?

Worse, there seem to be a lot of questions about core concepts that are covered in numerous tutorials & that anybody attempting mobile app development should be aware of. How many posts about runtime permissions & AdMob do there need to be?!?! :p

Don't get me wrong - I'm happy to help anyone (where I can) who is having issues with B4X development (hell, I was a newbie once myself & probably asked hundreds of inane & obvious questions), but it seems that lately there is a general lack of basic understanding, forum searching & even laziness in a number of questions being asked - even to the point of some posters asking for someone to write the code for them!

I certainly don't want to discourage B4X users from asking questions, but people have to be prepared to make some effort themselves toward solving issues before they post.

Maybe I'm just being particularly grumpy, but it seems to me that this is becoming more & more common.

- Colin.

Erel

B4X founder
Staff member
Licensed User
Longtime User
There is of course a lot of sense to what you write.

It takes time for new members to understand that 95% of their questions will be answered with a few searches. Building a usable search feature is a very challenging task. The result is that most non-Google search engines are very bad and most members never try to search. Personally I almost never use the search field on other sites.

We need to point new members, in a polite way, to the search feature.

Computersmith64

Licensed User
Longtime User
There is of course a lot of sense to what you write.