local and remote database

Hi,

I am new to android development, so apologies if this is a basic question. I have 2 or 3 C# programs that I have written, which connect to SQL Server databases. I would like to create an android app, which has a local database, and when initially launched, I would like to populate the local database with data from the main SQL database on the server.

My reason for this is so that the android does not have to be online to receive data from the database, it can use the local version, that will have selected information in it, then when the device is online the changes can be sent back up to the server database.

I can see tutorials on reading from a SQL server, and tutorials on creating a local database. However I would like to know if anyone can point me in the right direction to achieve the above 'sync' between 2 databases. Is it possible to use replication?

Any help or guidance is appreciated, sorry for such a :sign0104: question !

Thanks for your reply, do you know if there is an easy way to check if the android device is online? If so, what I could do is every x minutes check if online and then sync the data?

I am also wondering if I could extract the data from the SQL server using asp or asp.net webpage and then create a local database on the fly to store the information? This would then prevent me having to set up each device individually as a replication subscriber?

Last edited:
Upvote 0

keirS

Licensed User
Longtime User
You will need to implement a replication solution. You can add a 'time' field for each record and store the last updated time.

This will allow you to download (or upload) the more recent fields.