Other Osmdroid vs. Google Maps

Discussion in 'Android Questions' started by udg, Feb 11, 2015.

1. udg

udg Expert Licensed User

Hi all,

I've got little to no experience on the subject, so I'm asking here for some good advice.
    I read this post from warwound that makes me prefer Osmdroid, but let me give you an idea of what I need.

My app should be able to show my current position along with a few POIs based on some selection criteria.
    These POIs are common to all the users but they're not conventional POIs like restaurants, museums..so I will design and manage a specific DB for that.
    I need the ability to tap on a POI to show detailed info about it.

It doesn't matter whether maps are available only working on-line, but obviously an off-line mode could be a plus.
    It would be nice to highlight the path between current position and chosen POI.
    POIs could be indicated by a single communal icon but using different icons for specif groups of POIs should be better.

In the past I used an intent to launch GoogleMaps when I needed to show a place on a map, but now I need a closer integration within the app that, BTW, I'm still conceiving..

I'll read with great interest your comments, hints and notes about past experiences with those tools.

Thank you.

2. eurojam

eurojam Well-Known Member Licensed User

Hi udg,
    I started develop some apps with both osmdroid & google maps-mainly self guided tour apps, so both have advantages and disadvanteges. I'll try to give a short summery of my experiences - without claiming to be complete and may be they are a result of not knowing all possibilties of the libs. so comments and hints are appreciated:)

osmdroid:
    + osm is great, free and growing
    + different mapstyles (Renderings) available (CycleMap, Mapnik, OSMPublicTransport) or use your own styles
    + possibility to give local tilesets to the app, so it will run without internet