Android Question Problems with samba

fabian

Licensed User
Longtime User
I write because I have a problem with samba library. My applicative copy files from phone / tablet about 3000 times per day. Sometimes there are weeks that no error is produced in the execution of the copies (smb.UploadFile) but there are days when mistakes (and frequently) occur. I did many tests and am having doubts that the java library CIFS works well (I have seen that the latest version is 2011). I have also doubts that the wifi in android communication is consistent. I wonder if it would be appropriate to transfer these files with FTP. Have a suggestion? .Thanks

Attachments

• error.JPG
    error.JPG
    44.5 KB · Views: 127

sorex

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
it seems that you lost connection to the wifi when it happends?

I see 0.0.0.0 there which I guess is your current IP address?

try to add TRY commands to bypass error dumps like that so that the app can continue and try again 30 seconds later.

Upvote 0

fabian

Licensed User
Longtime User
Sorex Thanks for the reply. The error (in the picture) is already controlled by a command try. The program is critical because it transmits orders in the restaurant environment and can not wait 30 seconds. Moreover once the error happens the connection is lost until it turns off and on the wifi. I do not know if the problem are the WIFI or samba. I use android phones samnsug with Cyanogenmod to have more reliability. So I want to know if samba is reliable or perhaps be better to use ftp (or other method of transmission).

Upvote 0

sorex

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
also make sure you add logging to the try/catch so that you can figure out why it's giving errors.

Upvote 0

fabian

Licensed User
Longtime User
I have checked the IP 0.0.0.0 (indicated by sorex) holds in almost all situacions wifi error (for example if I turn off the access point) which is not true because the ip phone is fixed.