Android Question Tip: Modify code and hit CTRL + s

I am a beginner. i really want to learn.
MsgboxAsync("No result entered","E R R OR")
there's a green on left side, what should i do bcoz i can't run it. thanks

josejad

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
Hi dexlicious19, welcome to the forum.

Please, take a look to:

What is the question? You should post your error messages and your code (as text).
We have no information to help you.

Upvote 0
Hi dexlicious19, welcome to the forum.

Please, take a look to:

What is the question? You should post your error messages and your code (as text).
We have no information to help you.
there are no error messages shown. when is click run, "Tip: Modify code and hit ctrl + s"

Upvote 0

BillMeyer

Licensed User
Longtime User
Let me explain.

On your IDE, when you are writing code and you have, for example, changed some code in an Activity and you are connected in Debug mode, then all you need to do is Press Ctrl+S - (you will see the surround border change from red to green when successful) - this will then only update the changed code instead of going through the whole compile process again - a definite time saver.

I usually do this then go one screen or process step back on my connected device and then re-run the "changed" activity.

What I have found (and one of the experts can correct me if I am wrong) is that Ctrl+S does not work on the Main Activity and also it is not a short-cut if you have changed a screen layout - in those cases you need to re-compile !!

I trust this helps !!

Upvote 0

klaus

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
I suppose that you are trying the MyFirstProgram from the B4X Getting started booklet.
When you ran the program, I suppose that haven't done anything on the device:
1. On the device, you need to press on the text box
1589355865503.png
to display the keyboard, enter a result and press the O K button.

This message
1589355638897.png