B4J Question Why still OpenJDK 11?

Markus Winter

Licensed User
Why is B4J still using OpenJDK 11 instead of OpenJDK 18?

I'm especially wondering in regard to security patches.

Markus Winter

Licensed User
You can also use OpenJDK 14. I think that here we use LTS.
Thanks, but as far as I can tell 14 was deprecated in Sep 2020 and has no longer received security updates since then.
Better than using OpenJDK 11, but not what I would consider good.

The current LTS version is 17 (released September 2021 and supported till September 2029 for Azul).

But please don't think I'm an expert on Java - I have no clue about it, I just looked up the info online.

Upvote 0

Markus Winter

Licensed User
Ok, I think I know why 11: it is an LTS and ssupported till September 2026 for Azul (so is getting security patches).

14 however is NOT an LTS, so should not be used for security reasons.

P.S. GRRR … "This message is awaiting moderator approval, and is invisible to normal visitors." is getting on my nerves … :mad:

Upvote 0

Markus Winter

Licensed User
Yes LTS is important especially for applications that are used by large organisations. It’s more important to get continued support than be on the latest and greatest version.
Which doesn't explain why not use the current LTS which is version 17 - that's the info I'm still after.

Upvote 0

Markus Winter

Licensed User
Browsing through the forum 14 also seems somewhat problematic (eg with Google Maps - no idea if that had been fixed) and people recommend against using it.

So let me rephrase the question: what does 17 have that might make B4 want to move to it, or is there no practical difference to 11?

After all, if I understand it correctly, B4 is a wrapper for JDK that uses the BASIC syntax and therefore a subset of the capabilities (note to self: check whether you can include Java code). Would any of those capabilities be affected by the move to 17?

Upvote 0

tchart

Licensed User
Longtime User