Bug? b4a bridge can't connect to b4a 11.0, but works on 8.3

JesseW

Licensed User
Longtime User
I've never used the bridge before due to the lack of a home network. now that I have one, I figured I'd upgrade my b4a from 8.3 to 11.0 but when I try to connect to the bridge it connects and then immediately disconnects, waits a second and does it all over again, over and over. So... I reinstalled 8.3 along side 11.0 and it connects to the bridge app perfectly. definitely something going on there with the newer versions of b4a.

DonManfred

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
Make sure to install a new SDK (delete the old one!) with the new b4a as the SDK has changed.
Follow the instructions carefully: https://www.b4x.com/b4a.html

JesseW

Licensed User
Longtime User
Make sure to install a new SDK (delete the old one!) with the new b4a as the SDK has changed.
Follow the instructions carefully: https://www.b4x.com/b4a.html
hi don! I uninstalled b4a 8.3 and deleted both the old /java and /android folders, for a fresh new install, then I followed erel's video install precisely with new versions of java, android and b4a. all the paths are configured correctly. bridge works with 8.3 on my system, but not with 11. no worries, I've never gotten the bridge to work in the past so I'm not missing anything. I've never used the designer, and after I compile a project, I email the .apk to my s10e for troubleshooting. thx for the help tho

JesseW

Licensed User
Longtime User
It is not related to B4A version.

My guess is that you had two running IDEs trying to connect to the same device. This will cause the effect you describe, as each IDE "steals" the connection.
no sir, as I explained to don, it was a fresh install. 8.3 was no longer on my system. when it wouldn't connect, afterwards I reinstalled 8.3 beside 11 and then it connected just fine to 8.3

best wishes

agraham

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User