Android Question CSV with 5 Columns into SQL-Lite Table and Show in List Box - Help Please!

MurphmanL

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hi All,

This is my first post here as , since purchasing B4a I have self taught myself a lot of the things I have needed through reading tutorials and experimentation.

I have built an almost fully functioning app, but I am having one problem which is driving me absoluetely insane.

I have read pretty much every tutorial on this forum regarding Importing a CSV into a SQLlite table and I cannot for the life of me get the hang of it or get it to work.

Can someone please donate to me a few lines of code to import a simple csv of 5 columns into a SQL lite table with the headers, including the code to create and drop the table if it exists or not?

The only other thing I would then need to do is read through the records in the table and if the data in the 'user id' field contained a user ID, extrct the information from a record in another field of the table (for example Employee ID 1001, Postcode - XXX XXX) in a label.

I can figure most things out but the SQLLite is driving me insane! I just want to use StringUtils to import my 5 column CSV into a SQL table(which has to be created too), and then read the data from that table into a listview if certain conditions are true (basically to allow the user to 'pick' a record).

Can anyone please help??

I can't attach the project due to its contents being confidential so hence I am asking for a small code sample to steer me in the right direction.

MurphmanL

Licensed User
Longtime User
Yeah I believe I have seen it,

This is the code I've got so far.

B4X:
 Try
    SQL1.BeginTransaction
    Dim lst1 As List
    lst1 = su.LoadCSV(File.DirInternal,"Allocation.csv",",")
    For i = 0 To lst1.Size - 1
    Dim sColumn() As String
    sColumn = lst1.Get(i)
    SQL1.ExecNonQuery2("INSERT INTO allocs (a,b,c,d,e) VALUES (?, ?, ?, ?, ?)", sColumn)
    Next
    SQL1.TransactionSuccessful
    Catch