If Android is generally just Linux underneath . . .

ezekielchariot

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hi,

I didnt really know until I heard some expert on the radio, apparently Android is just another flavour of Linux, me who usually knows everything didnt know this.
So I hear its about 60% normal free linux underneath, whatever that means.

Is it possible then that programs written in B4A have some chance of running on a copy of Ubuntu perhaps? Or perhaps future versions may reach this ability?

Just thinking . . . , the guy also felt that Linux would eventually crush everything else so it would be nice to have various ways to approach Linux programming that we already know.

rfresh

Licensed User
Longtime User
"...the guy also felt that Linux would eventually crush everything else..." Yeah, I've been hearing this for the last 20 years, but it ain't going to happen. I use both Linux and Windows and I do think Linux is more powerful, however, Linux is an OS that "tech heads" or "gear heads" love to use from the command line. They will never give up the complex use of the command line in favor of a GUI. Linux is not for the masses like windows is and never will be because of this.

Yes I know there are GUI interfaces out there but the software apps that run under them are small in number compared to the apps in the Android Market (sorry, some new manager at Google needed to impress his boss so he renamed it to Google Play, extremely stupid name in my opinion).

While Android is a version of Linux, it is heavily modified to run on mobile devices of every kind. So, I doubt very much you could run it on a non-Android platform. And I guess I don't understand why you would even want to do that.

Upvote 0

JohnK

Licensed User
Longtime User