Android Question Please help with example code...

Past11

Hi guys!
first off, this i brilliant software i think great work :) i have been doing A LOT of searching installing different drivers, following links and tutorials and so on. NOTHING WORKS.

The problem:

I have a MS SQL database on a friends server, i want to connect my android app to the database, BUT... as mentioned, i have installed several drivers for this but all the time new errors
could a friendly soul PLEASE provide a sample code that will allow me to connect directly to the database, without b4J Middleware, i normally would program in visual studio vb.net and there it is super easy to connect using the data sources manager, but here.... omg i am definetly missing something i cant get it to connect, any help would be greatly appreciated thank you :) by the way, i am totally new to mobile app developing, so please bear over with me on this one :)
Kind regards Kim.

Unobtainius

Licensed User
Longtime User
I'm quite new to this myself but have like you have a lot of knowledge connecting to datasources in vb.net
For me I found the easiest solution was to build a web page (ASP.net or PHP) and have it hosted on the machine with the database on it (well the db doesn't even have to be on the same machine) because we know how to connect via ASP or PHP to a local or remote database, just call the web page with a few parameters (rather than raw sql statements), then have the page a display a JSON string containing the data you asked for. You then read that with OKHTTP2 (there are tons of examples on that)
Hope that helps

Upvote 0

Past11

Hello.
Thank you so much for your reply, i had thought about doing something like that, however i am puzzled that it is so hard to connect to an online db here, surely there must be something simpler, i cant get wrap my little head around it....

Upvote 0

Unobtainius

Licensed User
Longtime User