Should I try to go full-time game dev?

andymc

Licensed User
Longtime User
I'm stuck. I'm making a nice side income from mobile games I've written with B4A, mostly from one game, my Space Invaders clone. It's about 1/6 of what I'd need to go full time and quit my day job.

My day job is working in a large company as a Cloud Devops engineer, using Azure. I'm learning cloud technologies and working toward becoming a cloud architect, which can earn up to £100k or more, which would be great as I'm married with two kids.

but I have this nagging idea in my head to take making games full time, I think I could write a series of retro arcade games based on the classics, then write "deluxe" versions with more features than the original, this has worked well with Space invaders for me, the classic version pulls in 80% of the income, with the upgraded versions bringing in the rest. There's probably a dozen or so games I could do this with, so I'd have over 24 games in total by the end to work with (before anything new).

But what if I put all that effort in and the games don't do well? What if I fail? How can I get round these thoughts? I'm already busy enough with my family and day job, so trying to develop all these extra games will be a big toll on me, but it could work out in the end?

What would you all do?

Another thought in my head, does anyone want to come in on this with me and help out? I have 60k installed users to work with, and 14k downloads a month, so it should be possible to grow this base and introduce new games to existing players. I'm using B4A and libgdx, I've not touched iOS yet at all.

NOTE: Due to some responses, I need to add this, I'm really looking for advice from people that have had some success (over 500,000+ downloads) and making some real money from apps.

Last edited:

Star-Dust

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User