B4J Question Web server app backend + client options? New to B4X and Java. Overwhelmed by choices.

CBruce

I would like to code a web server application that supports multiple users, utilizes input forms, generates reports, uploads and downloads large files, and a lot of other various standard business functionality. Some of the functionality would be available to a browser client and some would require a standalone client. I've never coded in Java. I have a lot of experience in other programming languages and platforms. I just discovered B4X and I've been reading the docs and forums for several days now.

I am incredibly impressed by what it appears can be accomplished using B4X and leveraging the Java code chain.

I am simply overwhelmed by all of the B4X options, solutions, third-party addons with their own choices - and all of their various interleaved timelines.

I believe Anywhere has a newer embedded Jetty server that is its latest option for a back end? Mashiane appears to have his own embedded Jetty server (BANano?), but it looks like he doesn't actually use it in his own projects (preferring Laragon?).

Saif has projects for sale that look like they might be great tools to help teach myself what I need for creating a business app, but I don't know what pieces he has put together to accomplish his magic - so I'm not sure if that is a direction I want to research or not.

I don't know which components from different sources are comparable in their functionality.

I'm not looking for "How to build a web app?"

I'm looking for "What pieces are best for building a business web app in B4X today - and why?".

I understand that is a large question and I appreciate any feedback I receive.

Thanks, CBruce

EnriqueGonzalez

Licensed User
Longtime User
What pieces are best for building a business web app in B4X today
hi!
Start Here:
Jserver is a wrapup of Jetty, you dont have to know jetty at all.

Then: