Android Question Tutorial for devs coming from Microsoft Access?

superb

I have a simple application in MS Access that I'd like to create for Android. I've never programmed for Android before, and I was wondering if there were any guides to help those familiar with MS Access to conceptually make the leap over to B4A to understand how to get similar concepts from MS Access and recreate them in B4A?

Mashiane

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
Hi

I see you only joined yesterday. I would recommend that you...

1. Watch the videos on Erels learning channel
2. Read the manuals developed by Klaus

Both of these are on the Learn menu item in the navigation bar.

To access MS Access files, see here

I wish you all the best.

Upvote 0

Jeffrey Cameron

Licensed User
Longtime User
I have a simple application in MS Access that I'd like to create for Android. I've never programmed for Android before, and I was wondering if there were any guides to help those familiar with MS Access to conceptually make the leap over to B4A to understand how to get similar concepts from MS Access and recreate them in B4A?
You seem to be mixing apples and oranges in your question. What language were you using to work with the MS Access database, or were you actually using the Microsoft Access application?

MS Access is database storage, B4X is a programming platform. The simplest transition from a MS Access database would probably be to a SQLite database in B4X.

Upvote 0

Magma

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
@superb First of all, welcome...

Hope you find everything you need...

There are thousands of examples using ms access databases and other db ofcourse... SQLite are much simple to use, and is the standard / natural database of Android too.. without the need of extra libs.

From the other hand MS ACCESS is a DataBase Designer Tool, with the feature of creating fast Forms, like small apps... easy... because was the Tool for only this job.